English | Autor: Hilska Mika

Overhaul for Finlands women's league

Finland's top series for women, naisten Salibandyliiga, is in for a major overhaul. After one more season with just 10 teams, the series will be melted together with today's second highest series.

Overhaul for Finlands women's league Eliisa Alanko retired after a long and successful career. (Picture: Erwin Keller)

The result for 2019-2020 will be a 16-team league divided to groups called very Swiss-soundingly NLA and NLB. From there, the two best teams of NLB will play the last two of NLA with a chance to make the quarter-finals. The goals for the change are to quarantee the teams more games than now and simultaneously also to include more clubs in women's elite level.

In women's silly season, new champions SB-Pro started with firing their champion coach Matti Kaipio in favour of Vesa Pulkkinen from PSS. The reason was said to be problems with club management. Denisa Ratajova is leaving the team for Swedish Pixbo and Elina Kujala is still to announce whether she will play further or retire. Giants Classic have also suffered losses with Eliisa Alanko and Katri Luomaniemi retiring and Sanni Nieminen heading for Chur. Ella Alanko and Nina Rantala are still pondering about their career which also does not look good at all for the national team. These two also did not attend the national team's training camp in May. To cover their losses, Classic recently acquired Slovak national team stars Michaela Sponiarova and Denisa Ferencikova from Czech champions Vitkovice.

Super twins Veera Kauppi and Oona Kauppi have never hidden their ambitions to play abroad and it remains to be seen whether they will represent Pixbo or KAIS Mora or some other team next year. At least these two destinations have been mentioned. Two national team players confirmed to leave Finland for Sweden are Milla Nordlund from TPS to Endre and Mia Karjalainen from PSS to Pixbo.

WFC 2016 Golden Shoe winner Peter Kotilainen publishes an Instagram post to announce he's leaving Happee for a foreign club. Swedish FBC Kalmarsund chairman then tells press... Kotilainen tops silly season circus
The biggest news about Finland's Superfinale 2018 was not about who won but that the tradition would be discontinued. The day after the event, the central board of the Finnish... Finland’s farewell to Superfinale
From 16th to 18th of March Berlin will be hosting the biggest floorball event ever taken place on German grounds. The Floorball Final4, a vivid composition of exciting cup... Final4 in Berlin

Community Updates


1.SV Wiler-Ersigen79:3827
2.Grasshopper Club Zürich57:2826
3.Floorball Köniz64:5024
4.UHC Alligator Malans56:4618
5.UHC Uster56:5518
6.Chur Unihockey59:6516
7.Zug United78:7215
8.Tigers Langnau55:6415
9.HC Rychenberg Winterthur56:7613
10.Waldkirch-St. Gallen50:6711
11.UHC Thun52:737
12.Kloten-Dietlikon Jets49:775
1.piranha chur67:1927
2.Skorpion Emmental Zollbrück49:2822
3.Kloten-Dietlikon Jets55:2521
4.Unihockey Berner Oberland45:2818
5.Wizards Bern Burgdorf50:2717
6.UHC Laupen ZH28:4212
7.Zug United27:548
8.R.A. Rychenberg Winterthur21:566
9.Aergera Giffers29:663
10.UH Red Lions Frauenfeld16:421
1.Unihockey Basel Regio71:4428
2.Ad Astra Sarnen70:4927
3.Ticino Unihockey66:5024
4.Floorball Thurgau71:5521
5.Regazzi Verbano UH Gordola60:5818
6.UHC Sarganserland58:5716
7.Unihockey Langenthal Aarwangen57:6916
8.I. M. Davos-Klosters65:6215
9.Pfannenstiel Egg50:609
10.Floorball Fribourg42:599
11.RD March-Höfe Altendorf50:719
12.UHC Grünenmatt47:736
1.FB Riders DBR42:3222
2.SU Mendrisiotto50:3219
3.Waldkirch-St. Gallen47:3019
4.Hot Chilis Rümlang-Regensdorf36:2718
5.UH Appenzell38:3114
6.Unihockey Basel Regio56:4613
7.UH Lejon Zäziwil39:4610
8.UC Yverdon23:366
9.Floorball Uri27:416
10.UHC Trimbach25:625